Four weeks in…

Can you believe that the first four weeks of term one are over and in a week’s time, half the term will be over! I honestly can’t believe how quickly time has flown! This term has been so busy and when I read the blog posts of other esteemed colleagues, I can see that their terms have been the same.

The busy nature of term one seems to be replicated through the whole year. I remember when I first started teaching, that term one was the busiest, along with term three because of the HSC and term 4 wasn’t too bad. Funnily enough, term 2 didn’t get much of a mention. Fast forward to this year, my 18th year of teaching and it seems that there is no let up in any term. The year is incredibly busy. The whole year. No wonder young teachers are burning out so quickly!

Four weeks in and I am getting to know my students and they are getting to know me! I have returned letters to them, in reply to the letters that they wrote to me. I really feel that the lost art of letter writing is something that could see a resurgence. My students loved writing to me, but more importantly, just loved their letters. Four weeks in and I can see them at moments in the lesson where they have got their letters out to read. I’m really touched that they have kept them and that they have continually referred to them at moments in their day.

Four weeks in and the newest member of our department is settling in brilliantly. She has been creating a lot of good resources and sharing her experiences in the classroom and asking for advice. I have tried to lessen the impact of administrivia for my staff by refining processes. I have noticed that when administration is lessened, creativity and work actually improves.

Four weeks in and we have a new syllabus. Finally! Next term I will be working in a Senior College so my focus will be taken away from my current students for a term. I am busily reading and re-reading documents, taking it in as much as I can. I am looking forward to some new challenges, even if it is for a term.

At present my year 10 students are studying ‘The Boy In the Striped Pyjamas’ by John Boyne and they love it. He has such a good way of telling a story and I love what he has done with the narrative voice. It has provided a good topic for discussion in class. My  year 9 students are doing an advertising unit. My year 7 Launch class are settling in – learning about the school, learning about all the wonderful people who can help them to be the best learners they can be, as well as learning about learning… so they can have the best start to high school and be the best learners they can be.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in blogging, leadership, learning, reflecting, students, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

