Hey 2017! Great to be here!

When I think of all the new beginnings, the overwhelming sense of anticipation for the new school year and the sleepless nights in the lead up to ‘the first day’ I think that this year’s beginning has been a great one. A big call given this will be my 18th year of teaching. That’s 18 new beginnings and I can assure you, well more than 18 sleepless nights. I don’t know about you, but for me, the anticipation and the lead up to the new school year fills me with excitement and a sense of nervousness. Great excitement for the potential and the great opportunities that the year holds. Nervousness because I always get a little nervous flutter of butterflies. The pressure to begin well. The pressure to have everything as it should be.

This year has begun well. I feel that my faculty are working really well together. They are such  generous, creative, hard working and intelligent teachers. I have already had a number of students come and tell me about how much they enjoy their lessons. It’s always a good feeling to know when things are going right. Particularly in teaching, given the only time the profession is mentioned in the news, is generally as the scapegoat for all of society’s ills or to capture a few cheap, quick ratings by some shock jocks who should know better.

I have some great initiatives I would like to implement at school. I guess it is what I like about being at a school for a few years. The first year is really getting to know the students, staff, parents and discovering the culture and idiosyncrasies. The second year is about consolidating what you did in the first year -whether it be the changes made to policy, assessment and programs etc. The second year for me was very much about building on the gains made in the first year. This year, my third year is about refining the focus. Trying new things and and also getting a little more creative and innovative. I think the third year is a good time to mix it up a bit. Not for the sake of changing things – there’s no sense in changing things for the sake of change, rather, making sure that what we are doing is relevant to the needs of the students in our classroom this year.

In any case, I think 2017 has begun in a positive way. The optimism is there as are all the good intentions in the world. Staff, students and parents all seem happy. I’m looking forward to sharing the year’s journey. I plan on being a better blogger. It was one of my resolutions. 2017…we’ve got this.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in leadership, reflecting, students, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

