Mixing it up in the classroom

A little while ago, I posted about the new building works taking place at school. I was particularly excited about the new classrooms that our students (and in particular the classrooms that my department) will enjoy.

In the time that has passed, I have met with key staff members who will teach in those rooms and have given them the opportunity to choose furniture that will compliment their pedagogy and create opportunities for learning in diverse ways.

Something that I really wanted to achieve, was to empower my staff in key decisions. I invited those teachers into discussions about the rooms, how they will use the space and then allowed them to select the furniture based on their pedagogy. I am so pleased to say that each of the rooms will look entirely different to the other. They may also look different from day to day as each teacher really wanted furniture to provide greater flexibility in the way students were grouped and the type of learning spaces that could be created.

After sitting with our wonderful Leader of Pedagogy, I decided to really challenge myself. I have ordered lots of different furniture and broken up spaces with soft furniture, so effectively I can create different nooks. I can’t wait to get into the room, to take some photos so I can share just how this will enhance the pedagogy in my classroom.

In order to prepare my staff and students for what will be a huge change, I am putting together some pd. Much of the pd is based on research but also my own personal experiences of teaching in a range of flexible learning spaces.  For the students I am going to survey them, to get them to design a great learning space. I believe that with in our new building, we can create a lot of different types of spaces that will appeal to a greater diversity of learners.

I have decided to present at a symposium on authentic learning, with a really talented colleague. It will involve a focus on our pedagogy in the learning spaces in order to meet the diverse needs of our learners, challenging them to be the best students they can be.

 

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in flexible learning spaces, leadership, learning, students, teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

