My word for 2016 is TIME

I love this time of year. It’s been a month since I was at school and the rush to finish the school term and the busy week of Christmas is a distant memory. We’ve been on a short but relaxing holiday away. Renovations are talking shape at our place and everybody is relaxed, happy and healthy. It’s a time when I can read a little more and later into the night. A time to reflect on the year that was and on the year that will be and I am not alone. In fact, my reader is filled with some truly inspiring posts by some esteemed educators who have been thinking and reflecting on the year that was and the goals they wish to achieve this year. A number of words are repeated throughout these posts but the word repeated most is balance. Balance. It’s the one goal that is repeatedly set by teachers the world over. How do we balance our work with family responsibilities? I’ve decided that my word for 2016 is time. I need to focus on how I use time. I am not a time waster by any means but I feel that if I am going to achieve any of my goals, it will come down to time. I have always seen time as some sort of enemy. Time would steal moments of rest, of peace, of happiness. At times it would linger (particularly playground duty or exam supervision) but for 2016 I have decided to rush less. I think my frenetic approach to time, of feeling like I am governed by the passing of each minute, has led to unnecessary angst. I think that better preparation (of lunches, of breakfasts, of dinners) and more careful reflection will lead to better balance and greater productivity. My goal is to use my time efficiently so I can achieve more and have greater balance in my life. I hope everyone who has set a goal for the year is able to create a path so they can achieve it. 

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in reflecting, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

