First impressions…

Tomorrow I am going to meet my new department and the current Head of English. She is retiring at the end of the year and I will be replacing her. From all accounts, she is well-liked, highly respected and has forged a cohesive department. There will no doubt be a great deal of sadness to see her leave and no doubt a little apprehension on the part of the staff who remain, which is normal. Changing schools is not really a big deal for me. This will be my sixth school. I’m someone who likes a challenge and who likes change. I find that it keeps things interesting and keeps me on my toes.
I am sure they will be waiting in anticipation to meet the new person. No doubt they will want to know if the status quo will remain, etc. There will be time for all of that discussion next year.
I’m looking forward to putting faces to names, learning a bit about how the department has been run and most of all, getting an insight into the curriculum for 2015, so I can do some planning. I’ve never taught the same unit in the same way, twice. It will be good to think about the kind of impression I wish to leave on them, before I begin next year. I do know that first impressions are lasting. I am someone who is incredibly passionate about teaching and learning, particularly English, so hopefully that comes across in our first meeting.
Not having worked in schools all year (maternity leave) I am looking forward to tomorrow, albeit a little sad that this year is quickly coming to a close and time with my little boy, at home, having fun will take a different form next year.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

