… An Early Education

As I await the birth of my first born, I’ve been thinking quite a lot about the kind of education I would like him to have. If I had my way, I’d create my own school and get all the wonderful teachers I’ve come to know and respect through my own teaching career and on twitter, to teach him. Given that his schooling us still some way off, I have been giving more thought to his early education. I’ve always believed that parents have a primary role to play in the education of their child. It’s a responsibility that my husband and I are really looking forward to fulfilling.

I’m in a great position where I don’t have to return to work this year, so I am going to enjoy the time with my son. I’ve been thinking about all of the experiences I’d love to share with him, as well as my hopes for him. Something that we both sincerely hope he enjoys is a love of reading. My husband and I both love to read, so if there is some predisposed gene attributed to reading, then he will have a great chance at developing it! In any case, I have just recently discovered the local libraries in my area. I’m really lucky that we live near so many libraries. I’ve generally kept going to the library that I lived near, a couple of years ago as it’s only a ten minute drive from home, but there are at least four libraries closer to my house and I’m beginning to branch out and discover what they have to offer. I was really pleased to learn that there are story time and rhyme sessions for babies and separate activities for toddlers. I’m so impressed that these are offered at the local libraries and can’t wait to take my son along to these events! I’ve already started buying picture books for his book collection and can’t wait for my husband and I to begin reading to him.

I’ve had some time to think about reading, literature and children and was really pleased to read a post on that wonderful site,
Brain Pickings. Brain Pickings
Essentially, the post is a series of letters, written by some of the most esteemed cultural icons of the past, to the children of Troy, Michigan, regarding the opening of their public library. Here is a link to the post: Letters To The Children Of Troy

Each writer details the wonderful, imaginative and transformative experience that reading literature entails! It left me feeling energised and feeling so lucky to be surrounded by so many wonderful public libraries!

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

