Twitter PLN made my day today!

This has been a busy term. Indeed that’s an understatement. I’ve been part of the reporting process and at our school we have selected a new reporting package. You can imagine how good it has been, but also how steep a learning curve it has been, in order to understand the program and its potential. In any case, term two is also about assessment and for us, compliance. It is seriously the busiest term and while I’ve enjoyed the challenges, I feel as though the balance between my creative side has been lost. 

Like every other teacher I know, who is either a subject head or curriculum coordinator, I have found myself increasingly finding less time to be creative. Finding the balance between admin and creativity is rather difficult. I haven’t attended a teach meet this year. I haven’t blogged as frequently as I would like and I’ve hardly had an opportunity to connect with my pln on twitter. Tonight, after receiving the usual invite from a lovely teacher on twitter, I decided to set aside some work and join in the chat. 

You can find the conversation at #ozengchat – it even trended in first place on twitter tonight! The conversation tonight involved teachers from across the state. It was just wonderful. It was exactly what I needed – to reconnect with my pln. The convivial atmosphere, the sharing of strategies was just the most wonderful thing to do! I came away with some new strategies and was thrilled I could share some with others. 

Tonight I realised that if I make the time to interact with my pln online, it can give me the outlet to be creative, that I sometimes find hard to do in the work day. 

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

