Curiosity, the imagination and creativity. Vale Maurice Sendak

There is much that has been written about curiosity. Fuelling curiosity and nurturing questions from our students builds engagement and I think, really leads to valuing intrinsic motivation for learning.

Curiosity is ingrained in our literary heritage.  One of my favourite books that I read as a child, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, by C.S. Lewis, was all about curiosity, the imagination and where it could take you, however, for the moment, I want to honour the literary genius of Maurice Sendak, whose writing has no doubt inspired a number of minds, both young and young at heart.

This is a wonderful article that I read in the New York Times today. Vale Maurice Sendak

Here is a link to “Where the Wild Things Are”, narrated by Christopher Walken.

 

Finally and completely unrelated to Sendak, here is a great clip that I first viewed on http://www.brainpickings.org about creativity.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in learning, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

