The Big Picture…

A week or so ago, I wrote a blog post titled ‘Anticipation’ where I expressed my feelings about my new role in a new school. The working week is only two days young and I thought that it would be timely to reflect on all that has happened this week.

I spent today in an executive staff meeting where we discussed a whole range of issues pertinent to the beginning of the school year. It was my first executive meeting in my role as Curriculum Coordinator. What really impressed me about the meeting was the passionate way that each member of the executive talked about the vision for the college that has been articulated in the strategic plan. Sitting in a room of people who are obviously great practitioners in their own right and being part of the discussion was so invigorating and energising. It was collaborative and affirming. There was a lot to digest, to internalise. I have spent much of the afternoon thinking about and reflecting on the many issues that we discussed. I was energised because we discussed learning and pedagogy. To hear people discuss teaching, learning and pedagogy with the same passion and enthusiasm that I have for teaching, learning and pedagogy was just wonderful.

I am reflecting on the discussion and as a result am thinking about what I’m going to say to my colleagues in our first KLA Coordinators’ meeting. As someone new to the role and new to the College, I am keen to begin the year well. I want to share with them my passion for pedagogy, for teaching and learning. There is so much that is great about our strategic plan that really captivates our hearts and minds when talking about teaching and learning – and this is something that I want to communicate to this great group of coordinators.

I’m really loving the idea of taking the big picture and taking a journey with my colleagues to make it a reality.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in leadership, learning, Professional Learning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

