Anticipation!

In a couple weeks, I will start working at a new school, in a new role. I am really excited. This will be the fifth school that I’ve worked at and the second time I have moved to a new school and taken on a new role. When I went to Domremy, I had never been an English Coordinator. My new role is Curriculum Coordinator. It will also be the first time that I have been a permanent member of the College executive.
When starting a new school, there is always the period of time – a time of grace, where new teachers can be forgiven for not knowing certain things. I found that when you are in leadership, this time of grace doesn’t last as long. After all, people rely on you to guide and to lead. It can be like a baptism of fire.
I have to say that my experience at Domremy was wonderful. I was leader to a department of intelligent, articulate, creative and hard working teachers. It was the best possible beginning as a subject coordinator that I could have ever hoped for. We worked hard and achieved a lot! In the four years I was privileged to lead the department, we reinvented the assessment schedule and curriculum for 7-12. We trailed the National Curriculum (when it was a draft) as well as instilling a love of learning in our students. (well as many as we could)
I have always loved curriculum and the bigger picture. While I am very happy as an English teacher, I have always longed to look at the school from a more holistic perspective. I hope the new role will provide me with this opportunity. To be part of an executive that can lead change and foster growth will be wonderful. It is a great school that achieved outstanding HSC results and I look forward to being part of such a dedicated and hard working staff. Most of all, I love learning. I love teaching. I could never imagine doing anything other than working in education. It’s a great privilege to be able to educate young minds, something that I take very seriously. It is also a great privilege to work alongside colleagues who inspire a love of learning in their students and their peers.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

