Changes

Quite a lot has happened in the last few months. My paltry efforts to blog this year can only be attributed to the whirlwind that my life has become. Trying to balance my family life along with my work life and study life has been a real challenge at times. I often find myself thinking about a great presentation I’ve seen a teacher deliver (at a TeachMeet) or just this past week, attending a whole day workshop with Prof. Michael Fullan and some really talented leads of education. In fact, so much has happened and I suppose I really do need to become better at updating my blog, by reflecting on my experiences.
Furthermore, at the conclusion of this term I am leaving my current school, after four gratifying years as English Coordinator. I have truly enjoyed working with an incredible English department. I have a talented, motivated staff who are really passionate about our subject. We were one of very few secondary schools who trialled the draft English curriculum. We contributed to a successful submission for AGQTP funding to better cater for gifted students. We also engaged wholly, with the IDEAS project in our school, supported by USQ. Indeed we have done a lot as a department in four years. I have thoroughly enjoyed leading such a dedicated staff. I feel proud of my achievements in getting our staff to rethink programming and assessment. Understanding By Design has been quite a useful model. I am also pleased that I have been able to build capacity in the department by mentoring staff to mark the HSC, to teach Advanced, Extension 1 and Extension 2 English.
I am also grateful to the executive and CEO Sydney colleagues who mentored me. I couldn’t have done this without their support. Essentially, the lesson I have learn’t is that building capacity in others is incredibly rewarding. Working with colleagues whose love of learning and teaching is as infectious as your own is wonderful. It is always sad to leave that kind of collegiality. I wonder if that’s why some people remain at their schools, in their roles.
I am someone though, who loves change and thrives on a real challenge. By no means do I think I have done all I can do in my current role, because everyday is so different and so much changes in education. I am excited about curriculum and the big picture.
I couldn’t help but apply for a Curriculum Coordinator role at a school that is as dynamic as my current school. On Monday I am to visit the school for part of the day. I know that I have a steep learning curve ahead of me. When I think about the workload of Curriculum Coordinators, I know that I am going to have to balance the administrative component with the pedagogy and curriculum development. There is something quite humbling about stepping into a new role and a new school. You have to very quickly come to know the culture and do your best to fit in. Needless to say, understanding the many facets of the role and working as a member of the College executive are going to be learnings that I look forward to.
So, there is a lot of change in the air. Changes to the syllabus, change in job, change in school.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in reflecting, teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

