Dreaming big dreams

I love to dream big dreams. Big dreams about education and the kind of school, the kind of classroom where I think my students would thrive. Imagining the possibilities for teaching and learning is what has prompted me to begin this blog. I am not new to blogging. In fact I have another blog where I largely reflect on my culinary, gardening, travel and photography experiences. I have been thinking about setting up a blog that focuses on teaching and learning. Namely, my experiences of teaching and learning. From the wonderful twitter conversations I have with my PLN, to the conversations that transpire over a coffee in the staffroom (or at a cafe on Great North Road) or the conversations that take place in the classroom, I have learn’t so much from my colleagues, peers and students. Essentially, I needed a place to document and reflect on the myriad of experiences that enrich my teaching and learning. After 13 years of teaching, I realise how valuable such conversations are to me.

It is my hope that I will use this blog to:

– reflect on my teaching and learning experiences in the classroom and beyond the classroom.

– share resources and ideas with my wonderful PLN.

– reflect on my studies. I am to embark on a Masters of Education Research Degree this year with a focus on the impact of 1:1 technology on teachers’ self identity, self efficacy. I am still doing some thinking and reading around the topic area before I finalise my proposal.

– I would also like to reflect on my experiences as I undertake the wonderful Apple Distinguished Educators’ program! I am so thrilled and humbled to be selected to participate. There are some educational giants in the group and I can’t wait for the institute in April!

– review books and share reflections on different articles, podcasts, readings etc that I come across.

– share the reflections of other people. There are so many incredible educators out there whose blog posts are inspirational! I would love to link to some of these posts so you can also enjoy them.

I am an English teacher who is so passionate about literature and of course teaching and learning. I love integrating technology in the classroom as I believe it allows me to personalise learning for each of my students. It also allows me to deliver some PD to my staff in different ways. As coordinator of my department, I am always looking for different ways to engage my staff in creating  positive and rich 1:1 learning environment in their classrooms.

Most recently (well, September 2010) I decided to trial Edmodo with one of my classes. I can safely say that this was one of the best decisions that I have made. It has become a wonderful virtual classroom, where students are able to really engage in the ideas discussed in class. The user friendly interface and the potential to share and exchange ideas is what I love most about it! My students love it so much and I am really pleased that my entire department now uses it with their English classes!

Most of all, I want this blog to become a space for me to keep sight of the big ideas and big dreams, particularly when these dreams are challenged by the focus on national testing et al becomes a drain.

About acoure

English Coordinator and English teacher in Sydney. Believes in the power of education. Passionate about pedagogy, how students learn, curriculum design and learning spaces. I am keenly interested in finding out more about how teachers have adapted their pedagogy in a 1:1 environment. I am also eternally grateful for the inspirational educators I worked with in my formative years of teaching. They opened my eyes to the power of what a deep understanding of pedagogy can do to enhance the learning opportunities for students.
This entry was posted in blogging, learning, PLN, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming big dreams

  1. Dave says:

    Welcome to WordPress, gorgeous! If there’s anything I can help you with, let me know.

Leave a Reply

